Once More, Into The Breach…

As I stated in last week’s posting, aardvarks LOVE Nickelback (’cause they’re awesome) (Nickelback, I mean) (and aardvarks).  So today’s blog is going to start with the opening lyrics from one of their songs.

My best friend gave me the best advice
He said each day’s a gift and not a given right

The name of the song is “If Today Was Your Last Day.”  It’s talking about what would you do if you knew that you only had one day left to live?  There’s a lot of thought-provoking meaning in this song.  Most people tend to think, and act, like they’re going to live forever.  They put things off, they hold grudges, they live a life of fear, and do a host of other things because they think that they can take care of it tomorrow.

So why I am I writing about the lyrics to a Nickelback song?

You may remember that a couple of weeks ago, I wrote about “Suzie”, my former niece by marriage who passed away at the age of 28.  Sad enough, but there’s more to this story (unfortunately).

Only a couple of days after Suzie’s funeral, Suzie’s mom and stepdad were involved in a car accident.  Suzie’s mom was injured quite badly, and has spent most of the last month in a hospital.  The stepdad had injuries, but is ok.

Friday afternoon, I got a call from my oldest kid.  Suzie’s mom had passed away in the hospital.  Suzie’s mom and I were right around the same age. And now she’s gone from this world.  And that entire family is devasted.

My best friend gave me the best advice
He said each day’s a gift and not a given right

Guys and gals, we are guaranteed nothing in this life.  Not one single thing.  And I’ve suddenly become painfully aware that I’ve been living like tomorrow is assured to come, that I can put things off, and that I can live with no sense of urgency.  And that’s a scary place to be, yet it’s also a good thing.

Because now I know I need to change that……today.

So how are you living?????

Think about it.

Published by Naked Aardvark

I'm just a furry little beast with an attitude...and no clothes, of course!!!

Leave a comment