Take Me Out To … whatever that thing is …

So, my original intent had been to post Part 2 of my Catchphrase story that I did last time. But something happened recently that I just HAD to write about:

I went to my first Major League Baseball game! It was a spur-of-the-moment thing, to be sure. My buddy stopped and asked me about it while walking his dog. The next thing I knew, he called me and bought two tickets on StubHub for the weekend!

The game was on Sunday, but we chose to go halfway there on Saturday night and stay in a hotel. That should tell you we don’t live close to ANY major league team, but at least it was within driving distance. And of course, my buddy and I are both very mature, responsible, and level-headed individuals, with a deep appreciation for deeper things and heartfelt discussions about all aspects of life.

So, yeah, we made a lot of fart jokes and rude comments. Plus, we ate like pigs. (No insult to pigs intended. Just accept who you are.)

We awoke on Sunday morning and availed ourselves of fabulous breakfast cuisine. Yep, we were pigs again, only this time with coffee. And then it was off to the ballpark. We arrived early, not familiar with where we were going. But this gave us time to walk to and around the park, taking in the local atmosphere, enjoying the sights and sounds before a sporting event, and figuring out just where the heck we actually got into the place!

The gates finally opened, and in we went. We had plenty of time and made our way to our seats. The crowd hadn’t arrived in full force, so we could relax, soak in the ambiance, regale in the sights, and take in the view.

Yep. We were checking out the ball girls. You humans have some nice-looking species at ballparks.

Since we had time, my buddy walked around, purchased a souvenir ball cap, and had to obtain a traditional hot dog and some Cracker Jack. And he insisted on bringing me a hot dog, as well.

Note to all pigs. Don’t eat those things. They might be your cousin.

Well, I had to take a moment to walk around myself. As you may know, aardvarks are huge fans of M&Ms, especially the peanut kind. And my buddy, while not an aardvark, also shares that same quality. So of course, two boxes of those incredible treats went back with me. And I even gave my buddy one of them!

But at last, the crowd began to arrive, filling the seats in the park and educating me on where the phrase “packed like sardines” comes from. Actually, I know sardines who would have said, “Move over, dude!” But I have to say, everyone of your species was especially friendly, and no ugliness ensured that I was aware of.

It was a bright and sunny day at the park, with almost no clouds in the sky and just a hint of a cool breeze in the air. Sounds really nice, right? Well, here’s a tip: even in April, you need sunscreen on a day like that, especially if you’re going to be outside for 3 – 4 hours. As sexy as they are, aardvarks do NOT look nice once they get a sunburn. We weren’t designed to glow like that. Trust me; I know things. Although I have to admin, the sunburn did generate some typical “guy humor” later, in the form of a bottle of aloe and how someone couldn’t help but squirt a tad early. I’ll let you do the math from there.

Oh, yeah. Some guys came out on the field in different color uniforms, and they threw a ball, and swung a stick at the ball, and ran around like a herd of antelope when a lion chases them. And the crowd yelled a lot but seemed rather sad at the end of the game. Apparently, the “visiting team” scored more than the “home team.”

I LOVE baseball!!!

(NOTE: The visiting team was my favorite baseball team, so I was pretty happy! It was my first game, and I saw my faves win! Good times!)

Published by Naked Aardvark

I'm just a furry little beast with an attitude...and no clothes, of course!!!

Leave a comment